Proposal for EUREF TWG Membership

Z. Altamimi, C. Bruyninx, J. Ihde, H. Hornik, W. Gurtner, J. Torres, H. Van der Marel Feb 25, 2008

1. Principles

- 1) Go for 4-year terms with re-election or confirmation procedures. Election is done at the Plenary, the year after the IUGG General Assembly.
- 2) Accept the two types of TWG members mentioned in the Terms of Reference:
 - a. Ex officio members
 - b. Members elected by the plenary (candidates proposed by TWG, 4-year term, renewable once)
- 3) Enlarge number of ex-officio members (EUREF chair & secretary) with EPN network coordinator and EPN analysis coordinator
- 4) Introduce "Honorary TWG membership" for previous EUREF chair, secretary and TWG chair within EUREF Terms of Reference

2. How to proceed?

Define min. number of TWG members

Min. number is based on EUREF core tasks (from ToR):

- 1. Continue to develop the EUREF Permanent Network (EPN) in close cooperation with IGS, for the maintenance of the European Reference Frame, as a contribution to the ITRF and as infrastructure to support other relevant projects, namely the European initiatives related with GALILEO
- 2. Extend the Unified European Levelling Network (UELN) and prepare it to be computed under a geokinematic approach
- 3. Implement the project European Combined Geodetic Network (ECGN) and investigate the discrepancies already identified in the combination of the EUVN (European United Vertical Network) results and the gravimetric geoid (project EUVN_DA), in close cooperation with IAG Commission 2
- 4. Establish a dense velocity field model in Europe for the long-term maintenance of the European reference frame
- 5. Consider the contribution to the IAG Project IGGOS (Integrated Global Geodetic Observing System) using the installed infra-structures managed by the EUREF members
- 6. Promote the adoption of the reference systems defined by EUREF (ETRS89-European Terrestrial Reference System and EVRS2000-European Vertical Reference System) in the European countries and European-wide organizations involved in geo-referencing activities

Development of profiles for the TWG with functions which must be occupied in every case (mandatory). >From this a minimum number of TWG members results. Discussion of further possible positions in the TWG (optional). The maximum number of members results from it. In the ToR it is spoken about the leaders of Working Groups who must be a member of the TWG. How do we distinguish Working Groups from project groups? In every case this categorisation must be carried out for the establishment of any new special group.

The realization of ETRS89 and EVRS are core tasks of EUREF. To fulfill the requirements several functionalities are necessary (mandatory):

Position	No. of members	type of membership
TWG Chair	1	
EUREF Chair		ex-officio
EUREF Secretary		ex-officio
Director EPN Central Bureau		ex-officio
(EPN Analysis Coordinatior		<u>)</u>
EPN Network Coordinator	1	
(Chair of EVRS Data and Analysis Cer	ter 1	ex-officio)
Combination Coordinator (GGOS and]	ECGN) 1	
ETRS89 and EVRS Promoter?	1	<u>?</u>
Chair of EPN Real Time Development	1	
Chair of Velocity Field Project (tempor	al limited?) 1	<u>?</u>
Trosphere Project Coordinator (tempor		
<u>Trosphere Project Coordinator (tempor</u> <u>EUVN-DA Project (temporal limited)</u>		
EUVN-DA Project (temporal limited)	al limited?)	
EUVN-DA Project (temporal limited) Additional Positions Representatives of regional EPN Data (<u>al limited?)</u> Centers 2	
EUVN-DA Project (temporal limited) Additional Positions	<u>al limited?)</u> Centers 2	
EUVN-DA Project (temporal limited) Additional Positions Representatives of regional EPN Data (al limited?) Centers 2 2	<u>Members, 4 of them ex-of</u>

Open positions in the EUREF TWG with a 4-year term and election by the plenary

The procedure starts at the first EUREF TWG meeting after the IUGG General Assembly¹.

Fall TWG meeting:

The TWG defines the profiles of the open positions and forms the Nomination Committee (NC) consisting of two TWG members and the TWG chair

Two months before spring TWG meeting:

The NC chair announces through EUREF mail the open positions with their profiles. Candidates for election must send their CV, together with a short statement on their possible contribution to chair of the NC. Deadline for applications: spring TWG meeting.

Spring TWG meeting:

The NC chair proposes the candidatures to the EUREF TWG which makes a list of the accepted candidates.

One month before EUREF symposium:

The chair of the Nomination Committee informs the EUREF members through EUREF mail of the accepted candidatures for each position and announces the vote which will take place at the Plenary of the upcoming symposium.

EUREF symposium

Vote at the Plenary.

All TWG members eligible for re-election² should confirm (or not) their candidature for EUREF TWG membership for the upcoming 4 years

In the case of a confirmation, the candidates will be proposed to the Plenary for re-election.

All TWG members are elected by the Plenary for a 4-year period (See 1.1)) All present and new TWG members (apart of TWG chair which was elected 2007) should stand for election at the EUREF Symposium in 2008. This actually means that we elect the members until 2012.

How do we handle the 4-year term? We could make a cut now and say we limit the TWG membership generally to 12 years. This means that one can be re-elected twice. Then we had to look into the past and then all of the present members who have already passed three periods might not stand any more for election.

Current TWG members

- 1) Zuheir Altamimi, Paris
- 2) Claude Boucher, Paris
- 3) Elmar Brockmann, Berne

¹ For practical reasons, this time, the procedure will be adapted ; profiles for open positions will be presented to the TWG at the Spring meeting

² As the rules are changing, each current member has the possibility of having his term renewed once this time.

- 4) Carine Bruyninx, Brussels
- 5) Alessandro Caporali, Padova
- 6) Werner Gurtner, Berne
- 7) Helmut Hornik, Munich
- 8) Johannes Ihde, Frankfurt
- 9) Ambrus Kenyeres, Budapest
- 10) Jaakko Mäkinen, Helsinki
- 11) Hans v. d. Marel, Delft
- 12) João Agria Torres, Lisbon
- 13) Jaroslav Simek, Prague
- 14) Georg Weber, Frankfurt