EUREF TWG Membership

C. Bruyninx, Z. Altamimi, H. Hornik , J. Ihde, W. Gurtner, J. Torres, H. Van der Marel

ToR: 2 types of TWG members

Members elected by plenary

Ex-officio members
EUREF president
EUREF secretary

Members elected by the plenary



Renewable once or twice*

Vote at plenary each 4 years (after IUGG)

*Rules change, so everyone can stand for re-election once more this time

Ex-officio members

Supplementary ex-officio members

Reflect commitment of not only individual, but also of institution/agency

e.g.

- Head EPN Central Bureau
- EPN Analysis Coordinator

Honorary TWG members

Former EUREF chair, secretary, TWG chair

Max. number of terms?

TWG members

	From	2 terms
Zuheir Altamimi	2003	2011
Claude Boucher	1992	2000
Elmar Brockmann	2003	2011
Carine Bruyninx	1996	2004
Alessandro Caporali	1999	2007
Werner Gurtner	1992	2000
Helmut Hornik	1992	ex officio
Johannes Ihde	2003	ex officio
Ambrus Kenyeres	2000	2008
Jaakko Mäkinen	2003	2011
Hans Van der Marel	1993	2001
João Agria Torres	1999	2007
Jaroslav Simek	1999	2007
Georg Weber	2002	2010
		2012

TWG members

	From	3 terms
Zuheir Altamimi	2003	2015
Claude Boucher	1992	2004
Elmar Brockmann	2003	2015
Carine Bruyninx	1996	2008
Alessandro Caporali	1999	2010
Werner Gurtner	1992	2004
Helmut Hornik	1992	ex-officio
Johannes Ihde	2003	ex-officio
Ambrus Kenyeres	2000	2012
Jaakko Mäkinen	2003	2015
Hans Van der Marel	1993	2005
João Agria Torres	1999	2011
Jaroslav Simek	1999	2011
Georg Weber	2002	2014
		2012

Max. number of terms?

2 terms (8 years)
Standard in most commissions

□ 3 terms (12 years)

- More suitable for EUREF TWG
- *Continuity*

Avoid loosing a lot of people together in 2012

Procedure for new members

The procedure starts at the first EUREF TWG meeting after the IUGG General Assembly

□ *Fall TWG meeting:*

The TWG defines profiles of open positions and forms the Nomination Committee (NC) consisting of two TWG members and the TWG chair

□ Two months before spring TWG meeting:

NC chair announces through EUREF mail the open positions with their profiles. Candidates for election must send their CV, together with a short statement on possible contribution to chair of the NC. Deadline: spring TWG meeting.

Spring TWG meeting:

The NC chair proposes the candidatures to the EUREF TWG which makes a list of the accepted candidates.

□ One month before EUREF symposium:

The chair of the Nomination Committee informs the EUREF members through EUREF mail of the accepted candidatures for each position and announces the vote which will take place at the Plenary of the upcoming symposium.

EUREF symposium

Vote at the Plenary.

* For practical reasons, this time, the procedure will be adapted ; profiles for open positions will be presented to the TWG at the Spring meeting

Short procedure: new members

TWG Helsinki :

- Decide on # of open positions and profiles : Height, gravity, ECGN, Campaigns, ETRS89, EPN real-time, troposphere, ...?
- Appoint Nomination Committee
- Nomination Committee :
 - Before 05/2008:
 - □ Finalise profiles
 - Distribute call for candidates
 - Gather CV & statement of candidates
 - Organise vote at symposium



□ At plenary during symposium

Re-election

Confirmation of existing TWG members for one more term

Election

Vote between different candidates for open positions in TWG